National Hockey League

The NHL (registered trademark) is a professional ice hockey league in North America, currently comprising 31 teams: 24 in the United States and 7 in Canada.

Did you know power play: The National Hockey League ranks fifth among professional sports leagues in the world by revenue (3,700 € million). Some favorite teams are the Bruins Chicago Blackhawks, the New York Rangers and Toronto Maple Leafs.

The NHL established in 1917 as the successor to the National Hockey Association (NHA). Founded in 1909, the NHA began to play one year later with seven teams in Ontario and Quebec and was one of the first leagues in professional ice hockey. But by the NHA's eighth season, a series of disputes with Toronto Blueshirts owner Eddie Livingstone led team owners of the Montreal Canadiens, Montreal Wanderers, Ottawa Senators, and Quebec Bulldogs to hold a meeting to discuss the league's future. Realizing the NHA constitution left them unable to force Livingstone out, the four teams voted instead to suspend the NHA, and on November 26, 1917, formed the National Hockey League. Frank Calder was chosen as its first president, serving until his death in 1943.

The trophy given to the best team is called the Stanley Cup, the general manager, head coach and hockey team all get a chance to hold The Cup. The hockey players usually celebrate by drinking from The Cup, that's NHL players for you.

Go to full site